The Tramp working on the giant machine in the ...

Image via Wikipedia

Tonight I went to the Astor cinema in Prahran to watch Charlie Chaplin‘s The Goldrush and Modern Times as a double feature. Even though I own both of these great movies on DVD I wanted to see how they were on the big screen.

It was amazing. Both films are over 3/4 of a century old, yet they both still retained their power to make an audience laugh and cry. Yes, the dancing breadrolls scene in Goldrush had me blubbering like a baby. Not only is this one of the most iconic of all scenes in cinema, but one of the most beautiful too.

I am thinking of going back to the Astor next week. On Saturday they have the Sound of Music playing whilst on Sunday it’s Forbidden Planet/The Time Machine. I am definitely going in August to see Vertigo and Rear Window.

Goldrush

Modern Times

