View of MSAC from Albert Park Lake

Image via Wikipedia

I went swimming today for the first time in years. Even though the apartment complex where I live has a pool, I decided to walk to MSAC in Albert Park for a swim instead. The reason for this is twofold. Firstly our pool is not heated and gets friggin cold on days like today. Secondly, by walking for 40 minutes to Albert Park (and back again later), it allows me to get in some extra exercise.

There weren’t many people at MSAC today. There were a few old men and a school group, but that was it. I did about 10 – 15 laps of the 25 metre pool before hopping out to hit the spa. I had hoped to do some more but by this time I was exhausted. I definitely am not as fit as I once was, but surprisingly I am fitter than I thought I was, as I thought I’d be lucky to do only a couple of laps before giving up.

Afterwards I had a sandwich and a coffee outside by the lake. It was difficult to find a place to sit as all of the benches and tables were covered in bird poo. I read in the Herald Sun yesterday that the Port Phillip Council had a meeting to decide whether they should ban the Formula 1 from Albert Park because of environmental concerns. I wonder if the reason they refuse to hire someone to clean up the bird crap which is everywhere in the park, is because they don’t want to disturb the environment as well. It was disgusting! Then again this is the same council that allowed Albert Park to resemble a tip prior to 1996. If they are so concerned about the park then why don’t they do something towards its upkeep instead of leaving it up to other people? Port Phillip Council really is good for nothing and if it wasn’t for neighbouring Glen Eira Council, they would surely be the most useless government body in the state. Fortunately for me, due to a boundary shift a number of years ago, I am now residing in Melbourne City Council’s jurisdiction instead of in Port Phillip. I live about 100 meters from the boundary so if for whatever reason the boundaries shift back, I will gladly vote to remove this useless council. For now I just have to console myself with the fact that at the next Melbourne City Council election I will be voting against Robert Doyle as Lord Mayor.

When I eventually found a place to park myself I watched an old guy who looked a lot like Santa Claus, feeding the swans, ducks and gulls. For a few seconds he was swamped by the things and it reminded me of  a scene from Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds. I felt like pointing out to him that he is one of the reasons why there is so much bird crap on the furniture in the park. Because people like him feed the birds, they overeat and naturally need to do a lot more poos than they normally would. Santa looked as though he had just raided a bakery as he had so much bread on him. Many of the ducks and swans look very pudgy and fat too. I must say I did enjoy watching the two black swans swimming in front of me with their grey signet. It looked a little like a scene from Disney‘s The Ugly Duckling. (Everything I see and do has to be compared to a movie or cartoon doesn’t it?!)

Anyway I think that I will continue swimming on a semi-regular basis. I will continue going to MSAC until the summer months when I can swim at home. I am trying to get fitter and live healthier. I had lost about five kilograms in May, but I have not lost (or gained) any weight in June. I am never going to run a marathon or become Charles Atlas, but I do want to become healthier than I have been over the last few years.

