I just thought that I would continue on from my two posts about Nigger Boy licorice, a brand of candy that was very popular in Australia from the 1940s until the mid-1960s. I have already made a couple of posts about it.

Whilst I don’t have much information about this brand I do have some more pictures of the advertising that they used.

While these ads may be quite shameful for present day Aussies I feel that we really need to remember that it was not that long ago that we did not think twice about using the word ‘nigger’. Even today some people do not think that the n-word is all that offensive, as can be seen in the late 1990s and early 2000s, when Toowoomba thugby fans were outraged that anyone could be offended that they had named a stand of their sports stadium after E.S. ‘Nigger’ Brown. (Mmm… would it be so hard to have called it the E.S. Brown stand. Hang on, I forgot, Toowoomba is in Queensland and Queenslanders aren’t exactly known for their tolerance or intelligence!)

